Young Theatre Organist Competition



The Board of Directors has made the tough decision to cancel this year's YTOC competition. At the same time, we voted to change the age requirements for the next two year's competitions so that those that would have aged out this year and next would have another opportunity to enter the competition.

We look forward to resuming the competition next year at the convention in San Diego in July of 2022..

The Young Theatre Organist Competition is the flagship competition of the American Theatre Organ Society. It is the premier showcase for young theatre organ musicians and is an essential part of ATOS’s role in assuring the future of the organization and the entire theatre organ movement. Most of the current performing theatre organists under the age of 45 have entered and placed in the YTOC.

The competition is open to any young person between the ages of 13 and 25 who plays the organ…be it classical or theatre…or just for your own amusement. It doesn’t cost anything to enter and the rewards can be immensely gratifying…plus if you place in the top three, ATOS, in addition to awarding you $500.00, will pay for your transportation, housing and registration to attend the 2022 Annual Convention, to be held in San Diego, California in July 2022. There you will be able to present your talents to the convention attendees and be adjudicated by three judges who will select the first place winner. The first place winner will receive an additional $500 award and the opportunity to present your talents to the next ATOS convention! GSTOS offers the winner a $1,000.00 prize and the opportunity to perform a concert for GSTOS in New Jersey. The two runners up will each receive a $500.00 prize from GSTOS. Other ATOS chapters may also offer additional prizes.
Take advantage of this wonderful opportunity to present your talents to the theatre organ community at the next convention by entering the 2022 YTOC!

To contribute specifically to this program, please visit our Donation Website. (opens in new page)

  • Previous Winners
  • Application Materials

    • Application materials coming soon
    • Any questions should be directed to Luke Staisiunas, competition chair.

    2019 Winner, Aaron Hawthorne

    2018 YTOC First Place Winner, Luke Staisiunas

    2018 Winner, Luke Staisiunas

    2017 Winner, Alex Jones

    2016 Winner, Seamus Gethicker

    2015 YTOC First Place Winner, Dan Minervini

    2015 Winner, Dan Minervini

    Related Documents